Harbord’s Fashionistas

Image


Tigertalk’s Lee Nguyen interviews Larissa Watson and Alex Cordeiro, two fashonistas, in attempt to uncover the latest, hottest fashion secrets that’ll set you up nicely for the new year.

LARISSA:

What are your top 5 essential clothing staples?
My cowboy boots, my big vintage jean jacket, red lipstick, blundstones and big frumpy 90’s sweaters!!
Where do you shop? Do you have any recommendations?
I shop at H&M, Urban Outfitters, Joe Fresh, but I prefer Kensington market, Courage My Love and Black Market on Queen W. I shop there a lot. But I mostly shop in my friends and families closets. I would recommend looking through your parents old clothes from previous decades
What type of style are you into? (Grunge, vintage, Urban etc.) And what inspires you to dress the way you do?
I’d say vintage and sometimes classy. I wear a lot of red lipstick with classy dresses and pearls and whatnot. Like a 1940’s type of thing.
I dress the way I do because I like to wear things that nobody else is wearing. I try to avoid American Apparel, and reuse my mom’s clothes. I would use her sweaters and dresses, cutting and remaking them. I like adding creative twists to my clothes instead of going to run of the mill stores. I try not to buy things that everyone will have, that way I have my own style. I am also inspired by previous decades!
Is there any person or character whose style you admire?
Not really. Twiggy is kind of cool. And I suppose my sister.
Which clothes from what decade or era do you think should make a comeback?
Definitely 1950’s clothes! I love the styles from the 50’s (the big cute dresses and the red lips).
Why do you like fashion?
I like fashion because it’s a way to express yourself. People look at you and they get an impression of you, based on what you wear. And it let others see your personality through your clothes. To me, fashion is a great opportunity to be creative.

What Larissa’s wearing:
Cowboy boots (Bungalow west in Kensington market), red tights (H&M), giraffe dress (Urban Outfitters), white shirt (Bungalow in Kensington market), big jean jacket (vintage), croissant earrings (France), red lipstick called “are you red-dy” (Maybelline)

ALEX:
What are your top 5 essential clothing staples?
My black timberland boots, my winter pea coat jacket, big puffy scarves, baggy comfy sweaters, and skinny jeans!
Where do you shop? Do you have any recommendations?
The usual places! (H&M, Urban Outfitters, and Black Market on Queen W.) You can find lots of cool stuff in second hand stores, like Value Village. Kensington Market is great too!
What type of style are you into? (Grunge, vintage, Urban, etc.) And what inspires you to dress the way you do?
I don’t think I fit into a definite category. I like a mix of vintage and modern pieces, while keeping a professional look. Clothes are clothes. I don’t limit myself to gender stereotypes, so if ‘androgyny’ were a style, I think that’d be me.

I’ve been riding the subway for a good 6 years now, and I’d say I’m heavily influenced by the mix of culture I see. I try to take in what people around me are wearing and turn it into something I’m comfortable with.
Is there any person or character whose style you admire?
If there’s a certain person or character I admire… She’s going to hate me for exposing her like this, but I’d definitely have to give a shout out to Mercedes Simon, her style and personality are both gorgeous- and I have to admit I had a small crush on her in grade 10-11.
Which clothes from what decade or era do you think should make a comeback?
Hands down: the 50s! I think the 50’s were a great decade for fashion. Everyone always made the effort to look their best, be it for a wedding or a casual night out.

Why do you like fashion?
I agree with Larissa. Judgement is first made upon presented appearance. Fashion gives us the chance to say a little bit about ourselves without having to say much at all!
What Alex’s wearing:
Black Timberlands, a long black H&M scarf, a simple white tee, a fall jacket (Urban Outfitters), and Jeans (American Eagle)

Tell us what you think!

