But Kids Are Starving in Africa

I’m a slave to my body

I’m a slave to my rights

I’m a slave to my soul

A slave to a grain of rice

Nourisher of spirit

Nourishment to my soul

Food to feed my open mouth

To keep me looking whole

Look at the bigger picture you say

Take in your privileges plenty

For your trials are few and far between

If even there were any

Enslaved by my perspective

And your opinions of my truths

Judgment, indignation I do receive

For being privileged youth

Hear me as I cry for help

Within this abled person

Understand me as I beg for out

My privileges are my burdens

Some have it worse to me you say

You have no right to complain

You are neither oppressed nor outcaste

No one about you campaigns

You are treated no less you say to me

Then those who surround you

Understand you me you have no right to judge

Who’s had it worse than who

My pain is my pain

My sorrows mine own

Though you say in comparison it’s not

And although kids are starving in Africa

I don’t have to be fine if I’m not

One thought on “But Kids Are Starving in Africa

Tell us what you think!

