An Interview With Emcee Lean

emcee

Written by: Lucas Thomas

Fellow Harbodite Shequille Pail Mclean is an aspiring artist from Toronto. His mixtape ‘A new beginning’ combines clever word play and sick beats. I sat down and interviewed Sheq lean and asked him about his new album and future career as a rapper.

where are you from

I’m from Toronto Canada

Who is Emcee Lean?

The best rapper in the city

Tell me all about your new album

Shequille: Well it’s based off me trying to start over with everything in my life

Which artist/ artist was your biggest inspiration for your music?

Shequille: Eminem, biggie smallz, kendrick lamar

What do you most like about rapping?

Shequille: I like how far you can take rap in terms of words and new ways to flow on a beat

what rapper do you have no respect for?

Shequille: A rapper I don’t have respect for is lil b I’m just not a huge fan of his music.

how long have you been rapping

Shequille: I’ve been rapping since I was 12 years old

If you could go back in time what would you do differently

Well if I could go back in time I would do everything differently. That’s why this mixtape is called ‘A new beginning’

When are you completely satisfied with your work?

It’s one of those things were you can just sense that you are done and happy with it

What are you listening to lately?

I’m listening to kendrick lamar, busta rhymes, eminem, and slaughterhouse lately

What is your favorite album by another artist?

My favorite album is recovery by eminem.

Which one of your songs are you most proud of

I’m most proud of my ‘Backseat freestyle’ remix

Why?

I worked hardest at it. It also took me the longest to write

What do you do to relax?

I watch a movie to relax

How do you define “fire?”

Defining ‘fire’ is different to everyone. But I define fire as in have good wordplay, good flow, and good lyrics. Delivery also plays a big part in recognizing what fire is

What is your favorite movie?

My favorite movie is Spider-Man 2

What is your favorite word?

My favorite word is bacon

What turns you on?

Food turns me on

If you were president what is the first thing you’d do

If I were president the first thing I would do is throw a party

Do you censor yourself? Have you ever written something then decided it was too harsh?

Yes I have written something and I’ve re written it because it was harsh

What’s next for you

Dropping this mixtape end of October than gonna work on an album

And finally where can we find your music

You can find my music on my fan page on Facebook and YouTube

Tell us what you think!

