#Roy’sMyBoy

roy

Written by: Maya Biderman

Next year’s SAC president Andre Roy is a dedicated student who himself admits he does not have all the answers, but already has ideas to make the 2014-2015 school year the best it can be.

What made you decide to run for president?

Well I’ve been in SAC for three years and I’ve wanted to run for president for a long time. I saw what I could bring to the table, and I saw what could be changed and what I liked.  I wanted to bring that to SAC, and I wanted to bring it to Harbord so that we can have not just the best year, but the best future possible.

What’s your favorite thing about the school?

My favorite thing about the school is that no matter who you are, you can still kinda fit in. As a political nerd, honestly, I was scared coming to high school, but Harbord has been so welcoming, and it is welcoming of everyone no matter who you are and what you like to do. It’s just a great place to be yourself.

What plans for the school served as the foundation for your campaign?

My plans for the school were to work as hard as I can to try and get paper towels in the bathrooms; that was a big one. Also, with the breakfast program that I started this year, I’m going to work to continue to expand and support that to make sure  that no one has to go to class hungry in the morning. I’m also going to work to get a plan to help people with stress and anxiety here at Harbord.

Let’s go through those point by point.

How do you plan to get paper towels into our washrooms?

Well, we could do a pilot project , work with caretakers in one bathroom, see how it works, and if it works we can expand it. It’s going to cost some money, so we can do some fundraising; that kind of thing.

How will the breakfast program be expanded?

We’re already working with a charity, Friends with Community Schools. They’ve been great in helping us set up. Also, we might expand it to more days a week, depending on what the demand is. If the demand doesn’t go up we won’t expand it, but if the demand rises we will be able to expand. I hope we can!

And the plan for stress and anxiety?

Well I want to work with teachers, parents and students to get a real plan in place to help students with stress and anxiety. There are some things already here that we, that one thing we could do is better advertise then, but that’s something we would work out next year as part of the plan.

What’s the one thing that we could do to benefit students in terms of stress management?

Well, one thing is just writing down what you have [assignments]. Also, making sure that you’re not taking on too much; more than you can handle. I’m not an expert on the issue, I just want to bring bring people who do understand the issue together so that we can solve it.

If you could create a new Harbord event, what would it be?

I have no idea really, I haven’t thought about that. As of now, I want to make the events we do have more effective. That means working with other clubs. Doing a better job of working with other clubs is going to be a main thing, so that we can have better coordination and have more people in the know about, and excited about our events.

What’s one thing that people don’t know about you?

I don’t know….I’m not a very secretive person.

Is there nothing that people would be surprised to find out about their future president?

I have a dog and a cat?

Wise words from your new SAC president, Andre Roy.

Tune in next year when he delivers.

Tell us what you think!

