The Mystery Behind Harbord’s Tiger Suit

hayden

Written by: Madeleine Whitestone

To any new student at Harbord, our mascot is just someone in a suit, no big deal. For those of you who have been attending Harbord for a while, you may know that that there was a strong personality inside of that suit; Hayden Mayeur, well known for his charisma and for his charity bike ride to Niagara Falls used to assume that role until he switched schools this year. This leaves the question, who on earth has been the person inside that suit all year? Who is this mystery mascot? I have been pondering over this ever since our welcome back assembly.

So I set out to find the answer and solve the mystery. My first stop was our school office because they know just about everything about Harbord. If they couldn’t provide me with an answer, then they could probably lead me to someone who will. That is exactly what they did, my next stop was the gym office, and from there, a teacher, and then, a student. This journey continued on and on until I finally found someone who could give me an answer. “Do you know the identity of our school mascot?” “Yes, but I can’t tell you who it is” “darn it, why?” “Because they want to remain a mystery, but I can set you up with an interview”

I was a bit bummed about not getting to the bottom of this case but I still had hope. This new opportunity excited me; I had the liberty to ask the tiger anything I wanted. I sat down in Harbord’s busy cafeteria with this year’s mascot to ask them a short few questions to leave you guessing.

“I am going to ask you a few questions about yourself, you may answer as your true self or as the tiger”

Q: What do you like to do in your leisure time?

A: Spend time with my family

Q: What is your favorite subject in school?

A: Philosophy.

Q: What is your Favorite food?

A: French fries.

Q: What grade are you currently in?

A: Grade 12.

Q: If you could describe yourself in three words what would they be?

A: Girl, Approachable and Nice

Q: Why did you decide to assume the role of Harbord’s mascot this year?

A: Because my friend was the tiger last year and he left.

Q: What do you like most about being Harbord’s school mascot?

A: Having people guess who I am.

Q: Do you have a word of advice for Harbord’s future tigers?

A: Make sure you keep yourself a secret. It’s more fun that way.

Wise words from this year’s mascot. We now have a person behind the suit but not an identity. Maybe we will find out or maybe we will never know who that mascot really is.

Tell us what you think!

